Indescribable Peace and Forgiveness

Last night we at cell we spoke about forgiveness. We spoke about Hettie Brits’ testimony of being raped and how she didn’t ever see the face of the man who did, because she chose to close her eyes. She forgave him and also didn’t want to be able to see who her rapist was. There is so much to tell about her story but what personally stood out for me is how she just forgave, without blinking. She forgave and didn’t have any issues doing it, she also asked people to pray with her for him. Her rapist was caught, she now knows his name and he is in jail. He also got saved in this process accepting Christ as His Savior.

When she asked that people would pray with her for him, a person’s natural response is “Why?”. As Christians, it is always easy for us to agree with all that is said. I mean, it is easy to agree with all she says, as it is things we as Christians stand for….but he raped her… It is definitely a hard thought to get past for some. Lots of people thought and still think, she’s crazy to just forgive and be so loving towards her attacker.

But for me, it is something I relate with and I can truly say, when you are a believer and you have God on your side, that sort of forgiveness and peace can be possible. I too, have experienced that same situation and have had that same forgiveness, peace and intense love come over me. I have been in the situation of rape, 3 times in my life and different to Hettie, I saw all 3 men. 2 of them I knew very well and the one I didn’t. One of the most profound moments being when a long time friend was drunk and tried forcing himself upon me. While the situation proceeded, I would always pray in my head asking God where He was and that He would help me. At that time, a friend came somehow completely oblivious to the situation, calling this friend. That was the end of what had happened. Since then, we’re still friends. He has never said sorry, but I have also never pressed charges or felt the need to make anything of it. That friend has also visited numerous times and we have had supper together and watched DVDs. So I understand that you can’t explain it and you do sound crazy to others. But it happens, and we can only thank God for it.

She also spoke about Psalm 23 being a thought that passed through her mind when this person touched her and said “I want”. In Psalm 23 it says, “I shall not want”. She explained, how he will always want but without God, will never find what he really is looking for. We don’t have to want because we have God and He takes care of all our needs. I have also, with that same situation also had Psalm 23 mean so much to me and I have never understood why until we spoke about it last night and what Hettie had said.

So, I know it is sometimes hard to forgive, and people can not tell you what to do in those situations if they haven’t been through it themselves. I strongly am against telling people what to do or giving advice if I haven’t been through something similar myself. But if you do come into a tough situation, just ask God to help you with it. You might not have some crazy wild God experience, but you may end up finding a way to forgive or some sort of peace. As long as you trust that God will help you, I am sure He will help you find a way of dealing with whatever may be going on. 

Psalm 23:

The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
Forever.

Categories: Pursuing Faith, Pursuing Life | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

