Power in Prayer

Praying was never something I did, to be honest. I’ve always chosen to write little letters to God. Lots of times, they were just requests. But since December 2010, God has been working on my prayer life and it has changed immensely. I think, I pray more now than I ever did in my 21 years of being alive and I hope to do that even more. My prayers have also changed; they don’t consist of requests only anymore and when I ask for God’s will in my life, I don’t get angry if I don’t get my way or what I asked for. Sometimes I get frustrated but I get over it. Prayer is different for everybody, and I love it now more than I ever did.

So in my life, prayer and love have become my secret weapons. This year, I’ve really seen God use my prayer life for the better and I’m sure He uses a whole world of prayer lives. I have also learnt to be comfortable to pray anywhere at any time. To me, it has become like normal conversation and I guess that’s how it should be.

So anyway, I have been praying over the phone with friends at the weirdest times due to distance between us and them being far away. Some have been in Pretoria, others have stretched far beyond that boundary of distance and have been in other provinces.

All I can say, is that it has been an honour to see what God has done through prayer and it is amazing. His care and provision for me and my friends has been incredible and the changes I’ve been blessed to see and have heard have been far beyond what I ever imagined possible. People can really change when and if they want to and with God’s help nothing has been impossible.

But what has been totally rad to see, is the relationship built over the phone and through prayer. Even though we are far apart, there is just something so magical that happens somewhere in the spiritual realm when two or more people come together in prayer. God really seems to manifest there and you can feel the Holy Spirit move between us. You can feel it in your soul. It is like souls and prayers get woven together so intricately and with such detail that it does go far beyond what we can imagine although it is extremely tangible. When we come together in prayer, it just feels like whatever issues we may be praying for, become easier to handle. There’s a little more peace and support and the weight that was on your shoulders, feels a little lighter. God really opens up a lot of doors in the conversations over the phone and in the prayer that takes place, pieces are revealed and hearts can really open up to sharing. Deep issues and even lighter ones are strung out. People’s hearts and true feelings are revealed and also the changes people want to see.

I could go on…but what I want to say, is that you should value your prayer life as there is so much power in prayer..No matter how simple that prayer might seem. What happens when praying or even when two or more people come together in His name – cherish it. It is so magical.

Categories: Pursuing Faith, Pursuing Hope, Pursuing Life, Pursuing Love | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

