City Life & its Blessings

Wow! Been back in the city for a few days and already I am missing the waves, the coast, the peace & absolute NO RUSH!!! Everything that has been happening since I’ve been back in Pretoria has left me a little tired & like I had no holiday at all!!! But being at the coast did get me back into a few great habits – like making time to spend with God(no leaving the house without chilling with Him first), healthy eating & getting back into some exercise routine!

A few really cool things have also happened! Apart from 7’s rugby training tonight which is also gonna kill me, I’ve had some very good news. A few posts ago I asked that we pray for 4 women – my mom, Riamien, Liz & Elicia. Of those 4 – I’ve heard great news from 2 of them, Liz & Riamien. Liz has started to recover after surgery, she is slowly getting back her strength & is now walking. She has even darkened her hair & cut a fringe(*bangs – for my American friends). It is a slow journey but I’m so happy to have her back at varsity, smiling & alive as we really didn’t know if she would make it at one point! Riamien went for her scan last Wednesday(exactly a week ago), we had all prayed for her the previous evening at a prayer meeting. The results came back earlier this week & were super positive.  Some of the stuff in her lungs that were 7cm have shrunken to the crazy size of 2cm & may not even be of any danger to her. She has 3 chemo sessions left that she will be getting next week! So praise the Lord for His amazing work!!! Such great news & blessings – to God be the glory!!!

I must admit though I did miss my housemates! Ani & I are exercising together daily & trying to support each other & motivate each other with the healthy eating! I really have missed talking to her & all the funny expressions she has. We have been busy turning our one room into a guest room, which we will finish tomorrow (as that is when our guests Mark – a former housemate & his wife Laura) & then the other, Ani & I are turning into a prayer room. We’re down to 5 girls in our house & 3 guys, with 2 more guys – Jason & Thomas moving in next week! Good friends of mine, Chris & Mona have moved to the city too now, from the coast & Chris is the new pastor at one of the churches in Doornkloof. So happy to have them closer, will be visiting there a lot. He preached on Sunday for the first time, Sunday morning & evening – I went to both services & it seems like they’re settling in very well. We’ll be having a kinda housewarming this Friday #braaitime

Other cool news I received over the weekend was from my friend Scotty!!! What a champion…. So this crazy child is going to Australia soon. He knows how keen I am on going and stuff and has offered to sponsor me a ticket!!! So Australia will be seeing me sooooooon!!! Whoop!!! Beyond keen #soexcited&blessed

Ohhhhhhh and some news – out of the city & more coastal vibes(I know this is supposed to be a city update but I just have to share). Bethany Hamilton has been awarded the wildcard, she is paddling out alongside Laurie Towner (Australia) and local surfers Mustofa Jeksen (Kuta) and Made Lana (Uluwatu) at the Rip Curl Cup 2012 at Padang Padang in Indonesia!!! She will be the first-ever woman to compete in the Rip Curl Cup which is currently taking place until the 26th August! So let’s hold thumbs that she’ll be catching some great waves as those can be quite a challenge!!!

Anyway that was just a little update! God is good & great & He does answer prayers!

Have a great blessed week

Xx

M

Categories: Pursuing Faith, Pursuing Health, Pursuing Hope, Pursuing Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

